Merry

I’m Free!

I’ve re-entered my retail career running, it seems.

Starting a new job during the holiday season is crazy enough, on it’s own. Starting a new job in the retail sector during the holiday season is a special sort of self-abuse, especially if you have worked retail during Holiday before and know what you are getting into.

Decorations went up on Halloween night. Christmas music – awful warbly pop songs about missing your baby and mommy kissing Santa – started the first of November. As an aside, I think I may have spent too much time in certain circles; the song about tying your baby up in red and gold ribbons and leaving him under the Christmas tree has a whole new meaning this year.

I went from two years of not working to working six days straight. It’s Mongolian Death Flu season… we had a girl out and the manager was taking time off before the holiday blackout period.

Surprisingly enough, I’m happy. I like my new position in my old store. I like my co-workers. Most of my customers are pretty darn awesome. And I still love the product we sell, even if it’s not always the style I would wear. The little old ladies love the shop girl with the short hair and tattoos and slightly edgy clothing sense. The department I’m responsible for is Intimates, and I’m finding I actually like dressing up the mannequins in snowflake printed jammies and red knickers.

There is some adjusting to be done. The crazy day where I worked and Mr Awesome took the day off so he could drive my mom to the doctor. Our daughter went to a friend’s house after school, and I opened the store for the first time. Mr Awesome is learning again how to cook for our family, and on days I work, he comes home from his job and starts dinner so we can still eat together. He’s also helping the kids with their homework and my mom is helping us with the babysitting. Grocery shopping gets done when I have time, and writing time has happened barely at all. But I’m still going to write the awesome poly romance novel, it’s just going to take a little more time to get it done. We’re learning again how to be a two-income family with school-age kids, parents that need cared for, and outside relationships that need caring for. Mr Awesome and I are dating each other again, which has been fun and wonderful and so very, very amazing. We’ve rediscovered Queer Eye for the Straight Guy and have been watching it together. It’s fun, and a good way to relax in the midst of our busy day.

And I’m learning to let go. To let Mr Awesome be the awesome dad that he is. To let my mom get Lil D off the bus, and let my neighbor sometimes get them on the bus. To know that Mr Awesome doesn’t load the dishwasher the same way I do, and that’s ok, because at least he did the dishes….

I suspect that, when I have time to write again, my writing will be that much richer and more relevant. Balancing the lifestyle and our family and our careers is challenging, and I am looking forward to sharing any insights I glean from this experience.

Meanwhile, I’ll be listening to Winter Wonderland for the umpteenth time and selling people coats made of genuine “I Can’t Believe it’s Not Leather”.  You’ll hear from me again, next time I emerge from a box of knickers and industrial-strength shapewear…

And I hope you all have a lovely, lovely week.

Leave a Reply

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Polyamory from the Inside Out

Sharing my hard earned Poly wisdom one blog at a time.

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Amanda A. Allen

Writer, Reader, Parent, Crazy Person

More Than Salt

The little things in life that matter.

crackingthecookingcode

A fine WordPress.com site

Poly in Columbus

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Outside the Lines

Stories from a life spent coloring outside the lines.

phoenixtatgirl

Life, adventures, and daily grind of a girl enjoying figuring the world out

Fortunately Loving Life

A great WordPress.com site

Velah

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Polysingleish

adventures in honest non-monogamy

Love Times Infinity

Polyamory, Nonmonogamy, Ethical Sluttery, and Novel-Writing

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Nine Tasty Hazelnuts

History, Food and Fantasy from the Celtic World

Sacred Whore Diaries

Exploring sexuality and subcultures

Jack of All Triads

Polyamory, polyfidelity, and processing out loud

JumperCablesKnitting

Knitting Designs by Annie Baker

bluestockings magazine

bluestockings is an intersectional, anti-oppressive publication that commits to centering voices of people from marginalized and historically resilient communities, across multiple axes of oppressed identity.

