Effing Hippie

So, this has come up, now and again, and I wish to address it and clear the air.

I’m a fucking hippie.

I hug trees. I love the Bottle Bill, and faithfully recycle my cans and bottles. I also teach my children to do the same.

I buy from local farmers, organic whenever possible. Because I believe it’s important to keep the land around my rural Oregon home the way it’s been for a long time – berry fields, nurseries, and orchards.

I go for long soaks at Common Grounds, and I am planning my next retreat at Breitenbush Hot Springs.

I shop at New Seasons whenever I can, because I want to support a local business who is doing good things in my community. And I’m thrilled about their honeybees on the roof.

I hike the Gorge. And I pick up other people’s trash when I go. Because the Gorge is amazing and people who litter piss me off.

I grow my own veggies and fruits, to teach my children about where food comes from. And because they taste amazing. And I can and freeze the results, because nothing beats opening a jar of summer produce on a rainy January day.

I shop at thrift store so I’m reusing people’s castoffs, and because I can’t afford to by clothes new, most of the time.

I teach my children to recycle their yogurt cups and water bottles, so they know that they are responsible for caring for the world, too.

I work with the Portland Fruit Tree Project to harvest people’s unwanted fruit, and I love that I am helping the Oregon Food Bank when I do so.

I fucking love yoga, and I’m looking at starting Hula dance lessons this summer.

I may or may not be considering yarn bombing the local park.

Have I mentioned I’m poly?

So, you see the label on the box? The one that says “fucking hippie”? Truth in advertising, baby. Truth in advertising.

Here I am, not quite hugging a tree. At Hug Point, on the Oregon Coast. I may also have been wearing Birkenstocks when this picture was taken.

One response to “Effing Hippie

Leave a Reply

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Polyamory from the Inside Out

Sharing my hard earned Poly wisdom one blog at a time.

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Amanda A. Allen

Writer, Reader, Parent, Crazy Person

More Than Salt

The little things in life that matter.

crackingthecookingcode

A fine WordPress.com site

Poly in Columbus

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Outside the Lines

Stories from a life spent coloring outside the lines.

phoenixtatgirl

Life, adventures, and daily grind of a girl enjoying figuring the world out

Fortunately Loving Life

A great WordPress.com site

Velah

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Polysingleish

adventures in honest non-monogamy

Love Times Infinity

Polyamory, Nonmonogamy, Ethical Sluttery, and Novel-Writing

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Nine Tasty Hazelnuts

History, Food and Fantasy from the Celtic World

Sacred Whore Diaries

Exploring sexuality and subcultures

Jack of All Triads

Polyamory, polyfidelity, and processing out loud

JumperCablesKnitting

Knitting Designs by Annie Baker

bluestockings magazine

bluestockings is an intersectional, anti-oppressive publication that commits to centering voices of people from marginalized and historically resilient communities, across multiple axes of oppressed identity.

