My type of boys

I’m not a gamer, but I speak the language very well. My very first boyfriend, when I was 14, was a gamer. The boy I dated for a few months in high school was a gamer. My first girlfriend, when I was 17, played Vampire with a few of my other friends. My husband is a gamer. My boyfriend is a gamer. The new boy is a gamer…. Even my son is heeding the siren call of D20’s and character sheets, and is joining his first Pathfinder campaign this weekend.

Which means, he will be joining my husband (his dad), my boyfriend, and the new boy in something that I believe is a first in my life.

All three partners, in the same room, around a kitchen table… playing Pathfinder.

I must say, this isn’t something that happens very often to anyone, at least not as far as I have heard.

Boyfriend asked me if I would be going out that evening. Sometimes I do… sometimes the clatter of dice and the deep echo of men’s voices is too much for me, and I bail. But not this time. I told him “Why would I want to go anywhere? All the attractive men are at my house!” I may hide in the office and write, or camp on the couch and knit. I like to listen to the games, even if I don’t play them. I don’t play any games very well. I get too bored.

This illustrates something else, though, a lovely deeper truth. Something that pleases me greatly.

My husband and my boyfriend get along. They have been friends for almost as long as Boyfriend and I have been together. This isn’t the first time they have gamed together, and I am sure it won’t be the last. We do family dinners, the four of us (can’t forget boyfriend’s wife – the other corner of our square!) and hikes and I love my time with The Other Woman and I feel very fortunate to call her my friend.

And I am hoping the New Boy will fit in well, also. Nerdy, Geeky, a gamer… he has good odds.

And I get to sit back, and enjoy the show, as these wonderful men who mean so much to me spend time with one other… time that doesn’t involve me in the slightest, except for that I am the reason they all were brought together in the first place.

PS: Sadly, the magical gaming night never happened. It was cancelled due to illness. Instead, I got a lovely afternoon date with the Boyfriend, and spent the evening playing Munchkin and watching “I Love the 1880’s” with the Husband and the kids. But, I must add, it still makes me happy that it almost happened, and I am looking forward to whenever they reschedule…

Leave a Reply

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Polyamory from the Inside Out

Sharing my hard earned Poly wisdom one blog at a time.

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Amanda A. Allen

Writer, Reader, Parent, Crazy Person

More Than Salt

The little things in life that matter.

crackingthecookingcode

A fine WordPress.com site

Poly in Columbus

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Outside the Lines

Stories from a life spent coloring outside the lines.

phoenixtatgirl

Life, adventures, and daily grind of a girl enjoying figuring the world out

Fortunately Loving Life

A great WordPress.com site

Velah

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Polysingleish

adventures in honest non-monogamy

Love Times Infinity

Polyamory, Nonmonogamy, Ethical Sluttery, and Novel-Writing

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Nine Tasty Hazelnuts

History, Food and Fantasy from the Celtic World

Sacred Whore Diaries

Exploring sexuality and subcultures

Jack of All Triads

Polyamory, polyfidelity, and processing out loud

JumperCablesKnitting

Knitting Designs by Annie Baker

bluestockings magazine

bluestockings is an intersectional, anti-oppressive publication that commits to centering voices of people from marginalized and historically resilient communities, across multiple axes of oppressed identity.

