A Chance Encounter

“Is this seat taken?” a lovely, musical, feminine voice asked me from above my right shoulder. The hands attached to the voice gestured toward the seat next to mine.

“No, help yourself,” I said with a smile.

She was lovely, clear blue eyes and wild curly hair. She was wearing the most amazing scarf, rainbow striped high-end wool, with little puffballs on it. They looked like flowers.

I looked down at the yarn in my own hands, a lovely variegated pink and purple fingering-weight wool, being worked into a chevron pattern scarf. I could sense her next to me… I wanted to say something, but I paused, suddenly shy. On impulse, I looked up. Our eyes met, and she smiled warmly at me. My fingers were itching with the need to touch, but I kept them safely wound up in my project. I could feel the heat off her body, we were sitting so close. I looked away again, embarrassed.

I could feel her eyes still on me. I glanced up again, caught her eye and her smile. I screwed up all my courage and placed my project in my lap.

“Excuse me,” I said, still shy, “I don’t mean to be rude, only, may I touch… your scarf? The yarn is fascinating.”

With a laugh she unwound the garment and placed it lovingly into my hands. The wool was hand-dyed and spun, from local sheep. The puffball flowers were spun into the yarn before knitting, and embellished with sparkly crystal beads. She told me it had been knit by a local artist. It smelled of her shampoo and wonderful, well-loved fiber.

Satisfied, I returned the scarf to its owner, smiled, and went back to my own work.

 

Leave a Reply

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Polyamory from the Inside Out

Sharing my hard earned Poly wisdom one blog at a time.

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Amanda A. Allen

Writer, Reader, Parent, Crazy Person

More Than Salt

The little things in life that matter.

crackingthecookingcode

A fine WordPress.com site

Poly in Columbus

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Outside the Lines

Stories from a life spent coloring outside the lines.

phoenixtatgirl

Life, adventures, and daily grind of a girl enjoying figuring the world out

Fortunately Loving Life

A great WordPress.com site

Velah

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Polysingleish

adventures in honest non-monogamy

Love Times Infinity

Polyamory, Nonmonogamy, Ethical Sluttery, and Novel-Writing

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Nine Tasty Hazelnuts

History, Food and Fantasy from the Celtic World

Sacred Whore Diaries

Exploring sexuality and subcultures

Jack of All Triads

Polyamory, polyfidelity, and processing out loud

JumperCablesKnitting

Knitting Designs by Annie Baker

bluestockings magazine

bluestockings is an intersectional, anti-oppressive publication that commits to centering voices of people from marginalized and historically resilient communities, across multiple axes of oppressed identity.

