Penny For Your Thoughts

“Once there was a girl named Penny. Sometimes, I miss her very much.”

I tweeted this not too long ago. Probably a month or so… I can’t honestly remember.

Penny was a beautiful girl. Penny had dyed red hair and a smoker’s voice and skin like ivory. She was married to a rather sweet, quiet guy, and had two boys who were close in age to my own kids. All four children got along fairly well. She loved her children more than anything, and that is saying a lot for a heart so full of love.

When I met Penny, she worked for Pizza Hut. Shortly afterward, she lost that job, and she was in and out of employment for the rest of the time I knew her. She drove a series of poorly maintained automobiles, including the PaganMobile, which was loaned to her by her girlfriend. It was so named after the collection of Wiccan and Pagan bumper stickers it sported.

Trying to jam one of her endless 2-liter bottles of Diet Coke into our fridge, she once quipped “I can’t fit the unhealthy stuff in here. You have too much healthy stuff… there’s no room.” She lived on cigarettes and energy drinks and Diet Coke and peanut butter cups. She laughed with everything she had, lived with all her energy, loved with all her soul. She loved my children as if they were her own.

Everyone joked about Penny’s harem – the vast collection of partners of both sexes she kept. I still am baffled at how she kept them all straight. Jeff on one night, Slash another, Megan – always – the love of her life, Jeremy and their little boys, all in continuous rotation. She was the wellspring that didn’t run dry for the more love she gave out, the more she had to give out. Penny was love.

I remember when my husband met her. I remember watching them fall in love. I remember the excitement I felt for them. The sticky hot summer nights when I would return from my own adventurings and listen to him recount each moment of their courtship. I remember when their relationship cooled, and when things ended things between them.

I remember lunches out with just her, outings with the kids, quiet nights of video games and good food. I remember the sickly sweet dessert she made one Fourth of July and how I always looked slightly downward at her, because she was a little shorter than me.  I remember the coarse feel of her overly-dyed hair and the breathtaking softness of her skin. I remember a thousand little details.

I remember a year ago. I remember it clearly. I remember my husband crying. I remember him saying, “Penny is dead.” I remember my own heart stopping, my own tears for this beautiful girl.

And now, all there is, all that’s left, is memories. A woman slightly younger than I, a mother to two boys, loved by so many people, gone.

Her oldest son found her. Dead. Suddenly, unexpectedly.

And now she’s gone. And sometimes, I miss her. Very much.

One response to “Penny For Your Thoughts

Leave a Reply

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Polyamory from the Inside Out

Sharing my hard earned Poly wisdom one blog at a time.

Candice Czubernat

A leading voice in the LGBTQ and Christian dialogue

Amanda A. Allen

Writer, Reader, Parent, Crazy Person

More Than Salt

The little things in life that matter.

crackingthecookingcode

A fine WordPress.com site

Poly in Columbus

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Outside the Lines

Stories from a life spent coloring outside the lines.

phoenixtatgirl

Life, adventures, and daily grind of a girl enjoying figuring the world out

Fortunately Loving Life

A great WordPress.com site

Velah

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Polysingleish

adventures in honest non-monogamy

Love Times Infinity

Polyamory, Nonmonogamy, Ethical Sluttery, and Novel-Writing

Sex Geek

thoughts on sex and life

Nine Tasty Hazelnuts

History, Food and Fantasy from the Celtic World

Sacred Whore Diaries

Exploring sexuality and subcultures

Jack of All Triads

Polyamory, polyfidelity, and processing out loud

JumperCablesKnitting

Knitting Designs by Annie Baker

bluestockings magazine

bluestockings is an intersectional, anti-oppressive publication that commits to centering voices of people from marginalized and historically resilient communities, across multiple axes of oppressed identity.

